Day 23 – Crazy Horse and Mt Rushmore, South Dakota

Day 23 was 500 miles and then stopping to see Crazy Horse and Mt Rushmore in South Dakota.

The early start and 500 miles were not a lot of fun BUT it meant that by 4pm we were at the Crazy Horse Monument. I found it more than a little ironic that we drove through the town of ‘Custer’ to arrive at Crazy Horse. While the monument itself has a LONG way to go I was blown away by the museum, the reminder of the story of Crazy Horse and the sense that I that something very special was taking place. Having studied Native American history at college and having just been to Yellowstone my senses were probably heighten to injustice that the Native Americans had suffered, so needless to say during the film about the history of Crazy Horse I welled up.

Mt Rushmore was very cool too, but all that granite, perfection and cleanness smacked of the Federal Government. What a contrast of the two….free interprise vs the federal government.

And just for the record ALL FOUR Presidents faces will fit into the face of Crazy Horse.

About Angela

Coffee lover, foodie, PW, TCK, wine taster, MOPS mentor mom, Pampered Chef, wife, mom, auntie, sister, daughter...I have many labels, but the only one I let stick is Child of the King!
This entry was posted in Road Trip 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment